A Look at the 2012 KYD State Convention:

On March 2-4 KYDs from across the Commonwealth gathered in Lebanon, KY for the 2012 KYD State Convention. The Convention was a success with such a wonderful host committee comprised of many Marion County Young Democrats. This fabulous Convention highlighted some of KYD’s successes in the last year, elected KYD state officers, recognized some outstanding chapters and individuals in the past year, passed four resolutions, approved the new KYD Charter and Bylaws, and focused on the exciting year ahead.

2012-2013 KYD Officers:

Liz Fossett, President
Andrea Ewen, VP for Programming
Brendon Rose, VP for Recruitment and Expansion
Clint Morris, National Committeeman
Lauren Ingram, National Committeewoman
Laken Gilbert, Secretary
Liles Taylor, Treasurer


County Chapter of the Year: Fayette County Young Democrats
College Chapter of the Year: Centre College
KYD of the Year: Laken Gilbert
KYD Alumni of the Year: Auditor Adam Edelen

Resolutions Passed:

A Resolution to Honor 2012 State Convention Co-Chairs Joey George & Amy Bland and the Host Chapter, the Marion County Young Democrats

A Resolution to Honor and Thank Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes for Her Suport of the Kentucky Young Democrats

A Resolution Honoring Senator Kathy Stein

A Resolution Dedicating Significant Volunteer Hours to the Relief Efforts for the Victims of the Tornadoes

Community Service Event:

Congratulations to the Marion County Young Democrats for contributing the most items to benefit the Caring Place, a shelter for domestic violence victims.

Get Involved:

There’s a variety of appointed positions available in KYD. If you are interested in being appointed to a position, or just want to know what’s available, email Liz Fossett at Liz@KYYoungDems.com.

Want to find out if there’s a chapter in your area? Find out here! Can’t  find one? Contact Brendon Rose at Brendon@KYYoungDems.com to get one started!

 Special Thanks:

We want to extend a special thank you to the Convention Host Committee, convention sponsors, elected officials in attendance, Lebanon Tourism, City of Lebanon, speakers, session presenters, volunteers, and everyone else who helped make this convention a success. Without them, this convention could not have happened!

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: